No Comments

Essential Information if you are flying to Costa Rica and Requirements.

Info about Who can fly to Costa Rica and Requirements for tourists to enter Costa Rica

  • All people entering Costa Rica must complete the digital epidemiological form. This is known as the “Health Pass” or “Pase de Salud.” Click here for a link to the form.
  • Tourists must obtain a negative PCR coronavirus test. The sample for this test must have been taken at most 72 hours before the flight to Costa Rica.

  • Tourists must purchase travel insurance that covers accommodation in case of quarantine and medical expenses due to COVID-19. This policy can be international or purchased from Costa Rican insurers.
  • Tourists from the United States must demonstrate, via their driver’s license or State ID, that they live in one of the authorized states.


Authorized countries and states

As of September 1, Costa Rica allows tourists from Maryland, Virginia and the District of Columbia. These two states and the capital have been added to the following, previously announced states: New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Maine, Vermont and Connecticut.

As of September 15, the list will be further expanded with Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Colorado.

In addition, people who have resided in the below 44 countries for at least 14 days can fly to Costa Rica:

1. Australia
2. Canada
3. Swiss Confederation
4. Vatican State
5. Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
6. Ireland
7. Japan
8. New Zealand
9. Principality of Liechtenstein
10. Principality of Monaco
11. Kingdom Belgium
12. Kingdom of Denmark
13. Kingdom of Spain
14. Kingdom of the Netherlands
15. Kingdom of Norway
16. Kingdom of Sweden
17. Kingdom of Thailand
18. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
19. Czech Republic
20. Cypriot Republic
21. Republic of Austria
22. Republic of Bulgaria
23. Republic of Korea
24. Republic of Croatia
25. Republic of Slovenia
26. Republic of Estonia
27. Republic of Finland
28. Republic of Hungary
29. Republic of Iceland
30. Republic of Latvia
31. Republic of Lithuania
32. Republic of Malta
33. Republic of Poland
34. Republic of San Marino
35. Republic of Singapore
36. Slovak Republic
37. Federal Republic of Germany
38. French Republic
39. Hellenic Republic (Greece)
40. Italian Republic
41. Republic of Uruguay
42. People’s Republic of China
43. Portuguese Republic
44. Romania

To summarize the laws as simply as possible:

  • Tourists can visit Costa Rica from any of the authorized countries or states, given they meet a series of requirements. Tourists do not need to quarantine. Click here for more information from the Costa Rica Tourism Board.
  • Citizens and residents can enter Costa Rica from anywhere. Whether or not they need to quarantine varies on their point of origin and whether they obtained a negative coronavirus test.

If you have more specific questions, we recommend contacting the nearest Costa Rican Consulate for clarification before booking a flight. Costa Rican authorities have and will reject visitors who do not meet the entry requirements.




Comments (0)

Copyright © ABC Real Estate Costa Rica. All rights reserved
Tel (506) 2653 0404